Sign in to follow this  

More GPS advice...

I need a little help here. I am completely new to GPS units, purchasing, using, etc. I want to by my boyfriend one for his birthday. I've been doing some research on my own, but I'd like a second opinion from actual users/riders. I've been looking at primarily the Magellan Sportrak Color & the Magellan Meridian Color. I'm just not sure which product to purchase for his needs. He plans on doing some heavy hiking, traveling & riding with it, so it needs to be extremely hearty, mobile, light weight & waterproof if possible, with a mount for inside a car. He'll probably also want to use it for cross-country road trips. I also understand that the Magellan Sportrak color doesn't have expandable memory. Is that absolutely necessary??? Which unit is light weight & durable? I'd also like a unit that is user-friendly yet sophisticated & can "grab & go" right out of the box. Also, are there any suggestions for Garmin products?? Any suggestions from riders who use GPS would be great. Thanks!

I haven't had my Rino 530 long enough to be able to give much feedback, except that its pretty dang cool! I also wanted something bomb-proof, and the Rino fits that diecription!

I originally wanted expandable memory as well, but did some research and realized it wasn't that important unless I planned on long-distance, across country trips with it, and most of my use is going to be in one area for shorter periods of time. You can transfer info to/from a laptop, I believe, so when doing one trip upload that data, then for another, transfer again. I figured I'd rather have the 2-way function in the Rino, very useful when caravanning or looking for your riding group camping in the dez, but that just works for me...

Check the forums here and do a search on GPS, these guys seem to be big into them, and there is a lot of helpful info to be found!

Good luck! :thumbsup: