Sign in to follow this  

Highspeed Wobble

Newbie Here,just Purchased My First Drz400sm Last Week,and Above 75 Mph On The Highway,the Bike Seems To Wobble Now And Then,not Really Head Shake But More Of A Wobble,if I Tighten My Legs To The Gas Tank It Comes Out Of It,im Thinking I Need A Steering Damper? If So Will A Scotts Damper Work With My Tag 2 Bars And Risers?also My Daily Ride Is 8 Miles Of Dirt,20 Miles Of In Town And A 1/2 Hour On The Highway And Like Alot Of People Would Like To Get The Revs Down On The Highway So When Im Cruising At 75-80 Im Not Winding Out The Motor,i Beleive I Need A 38 Tooth Rear Sprocket,is That Correct?any Info Or Comments Would Help Thanks Alot Newbie

I found going from the big mirrors to Dual Stars helped out immensely with that annoying wobble. I have not seen anything on mine that would cause me to buy a steering dampener. I used the money for an FCR.

You will probably be really disappointed with the performance if you gear up to keep revs down. At 75 -80 you are not winding out the motor. The stock bikes wont even hit the limiter in 5th unless you have a good hill. I would just ride and not worry about it.

The first thing to do is to balance both tires. This is even more critical if single rimlocks are used. Check steering head bearings.....they should be snug but not tight. Stability and headshake can be reduced by lowering the fork tubes in the triple clamps until the forks are even with the tops of the triple clamps, and increasing the sag at the rear by lowering the shock spring preload.

The DRZ has an inherent high-speed wobble that cannot be removed completely by any mechanical adjustment, rebalance or modification. You can induce a brief wobble at any time on any DRZ just by giving a shake to the handlebars at high speed.