Sign in to follow this  

2006 RMZ450 Overheating??

I'm new to Fourstrokes and need to know if anyone else has troubles with their RMZ450 Overheating? I never let it idle so that isn't the problem but the track we have is deep sand and I always had trouble with heat on my 2-strokes. But with this, it kind of scares me since I first didn't really worry having a bit of antifreeze come out of the overflow when I stopped. But I think it does it while running as well because it ran low on antifreeze a few weeks back. Now from this, I seem to now have oil leaking from the cam cover. I checked the cams on the weekend and the clearance is a about .05mm too little to what the manual indicates. Can this cause this? Also, the oil leaking from the cams is getting worse. Does anyone have ideas what I should be checking. Also when checking the cams, there seems to be a significant amount of oil on the cams..

last Sunday at the races down here there was an 2006 rmz450 overheating also. even when they shut it off antifreeze was pouring out and covered the whole bed of the truck with it. i think there is a problem with the bike

• Like 1

We have had the same problem with loosing coolant on our 06 all year. I tried a lot of things including checking the head gasket several times. Finally found that the top surface of the cylinder was the problem. It was warped slightly, almost undetectable and had a small low spot by one of the water jackets. Under extreme conditions it would always loose a small amount of coolant and got to the point of boiling over badly when rode hard. I resurfaced the sealing surface by sanding on a piece of sheet glass and have had no more trouble. We live in Oklahoma and it has been 100 degrees plus and have not added any coolant since repaired.