Sign in to follow this  

need help understanding jetting

ok im new at this jetting thing, well new at motocross all together and i have no understanding of what jetting is. how do i know my bike is jetted right?!?!?! can someone help me.

Jetting is the ART of getting the fuel/air ratio into the engine in the correct porportions. Proper jetting will help maximize the engine's power across the entire powerband.

Different circuits in the carb affect different throttle settings. For example, the pilot circuit, including the pilot jet, fuel screw and pilot air jet affect idle to about 1/4 or 3/8 throttle. From there, the needle clip position and needle profile takes over. After that, at about 5/8 to 3/4 throttle, the main jet has the most effect on up to full throttle. Also, there is quite a bit of overlap between these carb circuits.

Here's a nice link with the basics. http://www.motocross.com/motoprof/moto/mcycle/carb101/carb101.html

Read up, search the jetting forum and ask questions. That's how everyone starts out. Good luck and welcome to TT. :thumbsup: