Sign in to follow this  

Moving to Northwest.. part 2

I posted a while back about our impending move to the Northwest and now it is time to go. My wife is flying out thursday to find us a house in either the Portland and outlying area or the Vancouver and outlying areas.

Sooo.... pro's and con's on each? I am a masonry contractor and it seems that there is work in both areas. ANY feedback would be greatly appreciated! Yes, I know it rains there but compared to 110 degrees that would be a nice change.

Thanks in advance... :thumbsup:

If you live in Vancouver and work in Portland the traffic across the bridge sucks.

all in all I like Vancouver myself.

Sooo.... pro's and con's on each?

:ride: Seems the main growth pattern is westward from about every major residential center in the Portland and Salem areas. Living in WA and working in OR is very popular, but getting over The River is a pain like drz103 said. :cry:

Since you are a contractor, and masonry is very popular in up-scale residential housing, and much of the 'west-side' stuff is up-scale, me thinks you would do well to look west of Portland to reside and work...you're also a lot closer to the primo trails!! :ride:(Sorry WA guys, you have to admit, the Tillmook State Forest, with all it's drawbacks, has Jones Creek beat for any 1-day ride...making enemies here!!!) Sea green was the closest thing I could find for ENVY

Vancouver to Portland is not always bad. I live just across the 205 bridge in Vancouver and never have problems. But if you need to cross the Interstate bridge on I-5 then the southboud a.m. and northbound p.m. commutes are terrible. But in all honesty all of Porltand/Vancouver and surrounding has outgrown the current road system so traffic is always pretty heavy.