Sign in to follow this  

Best age to start your kid riding. Please vote.

This question has probably been answered over and over again, but I have only one son... That's good enough for me to I guess ask again.

Reese, my son, is, I feel, exceptionally coordinated. He also has a wonderful, but slightly overprotective mom. He will be four in October.

My question relates to when is the right time to have him start riding.

Some of you hard cores will respond with, "Dude, I have been riding since I was three months old. Break his a$$ in!!!"

That's not what I'm looking for.

What I would like is a survey from SEASONED and EXPERIENCED dirtbike riders.

When is a good age for my little guy to get broken in?

I'm not going to name drop, but I know some prominent people in this sport, and can ask them. But I would like to hear it from the community.

Three? Four? Six?

When is good? What's a good rule of thumb?

What's cool about Thumpertalk is that a rider can get excellent advice from fellow riders.

Thanks ahead of time, guys.

Well this may not be what you want to hear, but im 16 and i started riding a suzuki 50cc quad when i was 3. When i was 4 i got my first dirtbike. Im not sure but i would say 4-5 is best. Mostly whenever youre comfortable with it and he can fit a bike.

When I was 5 I got a Honda FATCAT 50 if you even know what that is (I'm really starting to feel old) I could barly ride a pedal bike so dad had a friend weld a set of training wheels on it. Some of these new little bikes are great and have ways to govern them to keep them slow untill the little guy gets used to it.

Dauntae

I'd say 6 to 7 years would be best to get em' on a motorcycle.

I think younger than 6 is kinda pushing it.

it shouldnt really matter as long as the little man feels confident. If hes not ready he will let you know. :thumbsup::ride: