Sign in to follow this  

How should i prep my bike for 6 months of not riding?

I just had a knee surgey(ACL reconstrction) 2 weeks ago(June 19th) and there will be no riding for me until January :ride: !!! I didnt already ride my bike 2 months before surgery! I was wondering if there is anything i should do to my bike drain fuel tank, maybe engine oil etc. :thumbsup:!!! There are spider webs growing in the spokes lol!!

Thanks in advance!

I just had a knee surgey(ACL reconstrction) 2 weeks ago(June 19th) and there will be no riding for me until January :ride: !!! I didnt already ride my bike 2 months before surgery! I was wondering if there is anything i should do to my bike drain fuel tank, maybe engine oil etc. :thumbsup:!!! There are spider webs growing in the spokes lol!!

Thanks in advance!

I had my ACL replaced on 4/21/06. I started riding again back at the beginning of July. Nice easy rides to start, and going fairly well full at it by now. Stay with your PT, and you'll be able to ride far sooner than 6 full months. Did you do ACL reconstruction, or replacement? Maybe there is a difference is total healing time.

Dodger

Drain the gas tank & Float bowl

Drain the radiators

Inflate the tires to about 15 lbs and put the bike on a stand

Change the oil, old oil has contaminates that can screw stuff up

Clean and dry bike throughly.

Thats about it

Just for 6 months. I don't think you need to do anything except start it once a month and let it warm up.. I'd turn off the gas and let it run out each time. That amount of time isn't going to hurt anything. It would be different if you were storing it outside in a shed in the winter... then you need to do a few things.

Personally I like having all fluids in the bike. Make sure stabil is used in the fuel.

edit - hope you get better!

grab some wd-40, and go to town. other than that. put it on a stand with both wheels with no weight to avoid flatspots.