Sign in to follow this  

seat bouncing question

I have a question about seat bouncing. Now that I am off the bike due to injury, I have some time to think about what I have done, and just cant seem to figure this one out. To me, the only time I can seat bounch is coming out of a turn, with not much running ramp. Say 30-40 feet to accelerate. On the other hand, if I have a long run to a jump, and pick up a lot of speek, I seem to want to get bucked over the bike. Is seat bouncing only for short runs, where the acceleration keeps your weight back, or could this be done at any speed, any acceleration?

I'm far from an expert, but I tend to use seat boucing (or more plainly - compressing the suspension) on both high speed and low speed jumps as and when required. Let me explain - If you have a short run to a jump and you don't think you'll make the landing a well timed bouce can give you the extra lift to make the jump.

On the other hand, if you have a very fast jump where you tend to overjump, then I'll do a bounce BEFORE the lip to essentially launch without using the entire jump ... this makes you 'pre-jump' effectively getting much less air for those fast jumps.

when i try and seat bounch the bike kicks my ass what am i doin wrong its makin me loose confidence at tryin it . carl

when i try and seat bounch the bike kicks my ass what am i doin wrong its makin me loose confidence at tryin it . carl

You aren't on the gas hard enough. When seat bouncing you want to be squeezing the bike between your legs and be sitting in a neutral position on the seat. As you leave you want to be hard on the gas all the way off the jump, then as you are getting into the air, stand up as the bike is getting higher.