Sign in to follow this  

Best used dual sport option for me?

I just found this board - great info out here.

I'm in western Montana with all sorts of 2-lane and off-road riding. I'm seriously considering dual sport - too often I'm on my touring bike and see a dirt road that takes off somewhere and wish I could head up it. So I can go home, load up my YZ (Widowmaker) and head back........it's not street legal, and beyond the add-on spark arrestor, is questionable to it's legality in the woods.... :thumbsup:

I've had an ATV which I can make street legal easily, but they're worthless for travelling down highways - I'm looking for something that I can drive 30-80 miles on pavement, then turn off and away I go.

I'm a big guy - 6'2", 235#, and I prefer big bikes. I've been riding dirt and street for 30+ years, so plenty of experience in all types of environments. I've pretty much narrowed it down to Suzuki's DR or Kawasaki's KLR 650's. I'm not a Honda fan (no offense), I'm dyed-in-the-wool Yamaha, however, their dual sport options suck for all intent and purpose.

A couple that I'm looking at currently - a '97 DR 650 and an '01 KLR 650. My riding would be close to a 50/50 split of dirt vs. pavement - maybe leaning a little heavier to dirt - I just want to GET there by pavement......

Just curious of everybody's thots on these two bikes, any other options, etc.

Thanks in advance.

Rick

WOW well i had the same thoughts so i went with the wr 450 added a little JUNK and made it street legal. more dirtbike than street tho, imo i say the wr would be a nice bike and parts are easy to get and yama is very dependable.

i ride 36-50 miles a day on the highway and have no problems, with the non dot knobbies )

One of the reasons I'm leaning towards the KLR is rear rack and availability of accessories. I need a place to store fly fishing necessities and of course a small cooler...............