Sign in to follow this  

2-up on a DR650

I have been riding on the street for over 18 years. I have recently gotten interested in some offroading, and I am thinking of buying a dualsport. About 90% of my riding is 2-up with my wife. I would like to hear from any of you that have experience with any significant time spent with a passenger on a DR650. Thanks.

Don't do it. #1 The suspension is to soft for 2, and #2 if you get caught up in some sand...which these bikes hate with a single rider onboard, you could really hurt yourself and/or your wife. Get 2 bikes, a DR for you and a trailways 200 for her. Much safer.

Agreed.

Off-road and 2-up just don't go together.

I'd go so far as to say just put the idea behind you.

A bike that is good off-road will be shocking with a pillion, and the reverse for a big bike that is great 2-up (say 1200 adventure).

J.

My DR650SE is great off-road... and on the street, my wife rides with me fine (we are about 270 pounds combined). But when we go off road, she's got her own DR200SE, and neither one of us would have it any other way. You and your wife would both have a lot more off road (and be safer) if she had her own bike. :thumbsup:

I would agree with what has been said here, my wife and I ride 2 up all the time but the roughest it gets is gravel roads. I would say if you are looking at anything over a gravel county road to pass on it. That said we love to take the back gravel roads and look at old farm houses old barns and such...it can be some good times together.

Perhaps some kind of crazy motoX sidecar rig? If you REALLY want to do it.