Sign in to follow this  

First Race Nerves

Ok i am going to have my first mx race this weekend. I have been riding for a few years now but never been able to race. Tomorrow i am going with some friends to the track so that i can try and get some lines picked out and figure out where i can pass people and what not. But i am still kinda nervous i mean i know i can run mid to maybe top ten because i am able to keep up with the faster guys, but in practice i suck but when i chase people i dont care about anything else. Here's what i am thinking it is going to be like i am going to pack my stuff up at 5 am and leave at 5:30 it takes about an hour to get to the track. Then i will get a good parking spot go sign up,( i have a district and ama card so thats taken care of). Then my father is going to show up since i am 18 he dosent have to be there for practice and such i just want him there for my first race and for some encouragement because when i see him i push harder to do better because it makes me proud to see that he's truly happy, i just dont want to screw anything up. If anyone has any advice for anything like practice tomorrow or somehthing please let me know. i just want to be relaxed for tomorrow.

thanks

Josh

:ride::thumbsup:

But i am still kinda nervous i mean i know i can run mid to maybe top ten because i am able to keep up with the faster guys, but in practice i suck but when i chase people i dont care about anything else.

Race the track, not the guys near you. I made that mistake alot and it caused me to go slower. Just focus on STAYING CALM, if you hit "wig-out mode" you'll ride slower as well. Remember to BREATH or you will get tired quickly.