Sign in to follow this  

Yamaha TTR125L vs Kawasaki KX125

Hi all, just probing from some input. My son currently rides a Yamaha TTR125L, He's now looking for something better, especially suspension wise. He wants to get a Kawasaki KX125. Wants to stay in the 125cc engine size. I have a TTR250 which he has ridden, but he doesn't care for the weight of my bike. (by the way, He has no problem whatsoever handling the 250) Most of our riding is trail with a lot of rocks (Tower city). I know that we will be getting a used one since they are out of production (I worked as a yamaha 2-stroke mechanic for a few years in the 70's, so I'm not afraid of wrenching it) His concern is the power band of a two stroke. Anyone care to comment on the KX125 as a trial bike in fairly rocky conditions? We've heard good things about the KX125 & I figure that we can pick one up for under 2 grand. Any other recommendations for a "mild" power band 125 2-stroke? Thanks!

Rich 2005 TTR250

Jesse 2003 TTR125L

I dont believe the KX would be suitable for your type of riding. The KX is made for the track. It doesnt have enough down low to go through rocks.

you can always gear it down, add a flywheel weight, differnty pipe. thers lots of things you can do for it. My whole riding group rides only two stroke, and we only do hill climbs, trails, and single tracking. No one rides a four stroke. There 3 cr250s and 2 125s. I would say go for it. Its true that 125s lack bottom end, but its correctable, but not fixable. Although mods will improve what your looking for, he will still have to learn good clutch control, if hes going to be on a 125. Go for it! i got my very first bike and it was a 00 cr125. i had never even sat on a bike before, and i learned on it! i would recommend it, he'll like it. braaaaaap! :thumbsup: