Sign in to follow this  

Anyone mx on both YZ(CRF) and WR(CRFX)???

I'm looking for opinions from anyone that motocrossed both a WR and then a YZ (either 250 or 450).

I bought a Wr450 last July to go trail riding. However, over the Winter a buddy talked me into mxing the WR. I am now wondering if I'd be better off on a true motocrosser.

Some facts: I'm 39 years old, weigh 215 and I'm a rookie. I set all the clickers and removed throttle stop on the WR. I'm improving each week but I still won't attempt even moderate doubles so I lose a LOT of time by rolling over them. Part of my concern is the weight of the WR and what I suspect is a soft suspension despite playing with the settings. (Of course the estart is key when I stall it in the corners!)

Has anyone crossed from trail bike to mxer? Did you notice a big difference or am I kidding myself that switching bikes might help?

Tony

Been ther done that.

I use to have a wr 250 for trail riding.

I started going to the local SX track to gain confidence on jumps and overall handling. I said no jumping for me at that time.

Its a SX track so almost everyjump is a double and the few tables come out of corners so it wasnt easy... I rolled over most jumps and slowly started to jump tables and an ocassional double.

Then i bought a cr250 and i just have to say WOW!.

DId it make a diference? Sure it did.

It made a huge diference in jumps, because of its suspension i can case them and not die. Because of its light weight i can correct it while in the air. Because of it`s power if i dont carry enough speed off the corner to clear a double i am confident the bike has the power.

And it made a huge diference in corners... that`s what amazed me the most and why im :thumbsup: with my WR.

The WR is so top heavy that makes every corner a nightmare.

The question is versatility.

Now can you ride a WR in a MX SX track? Sure you can. Just make sure you dont miss any landing.