Sign in to follow this  

CR125 or CR250 for trail work?

Hey, I'm looking at getting a new 2-stroke, mostly for off-road and trail work. Anyone set up a CR125 or CR250 for non-motocross riding? I'd like the lightest bike than can haul me around (6', 210 pounds); is the 125 too weak in the power department?

Thanx, Lance :thumbsup:

yeah a 125 is.

Ok, i started riding about 4 years ago. I got a 2000 cr125. i had never sat on a bike prior to that. i learned on it and all, and it was a smashin bike, had balls of steel, but it eventyly came to a point where it wasnt enough. Well, im 6'6 230. I have since jumped up to a 2002 cr250. I ONLY ride trails, hillclimbs, and singletrackin. The was i have it set up, which is not many thing, basically stock, is great. If you would like i can tell you what i had on my 125 and what i have on my 250, depeding on what bike you go for. But i would say go for a 250!

hey,

i have also been looking into a 2-smoke 125. i am 6'1" and 140 pounds (im 15). do you think a 125 with haul me around no problem? if so i was thinking about getting a brand new one but i cant decide weither i want a yz or cr 125? people say that if your gunna buy a brand new 06 or 07 125 get the yz cause it has a stronger motor and better suspension than the newer cr 125's...so...what do you guys think?

hey,

i have also been looking into a 2-smoke 125. i am 6'1" and 140 pounds (im 15). do you think a 125 with haul me around no problem? if so i was thinking about getting a brand new one but i cant decide weither i want a yz or cr 125? people say that if your gunna buy a brand new 06 or 07 125 get the yz cause it has a stronger motor and better suspension than the newer cr 125's...so...what do you guys think?

Yeah, there's no reason a 125 won't haul you around just fine, you're only 140 pounds. I suggest the YZ, I've heard good things about the new CRs but my recommendation wouls be to go with Yamaha. They've been known to make the strongest 125s for awhile now.