Sign in to follow this  

Designing a caliper relocation bracket for the SM model... Any ideas?

Howdy All....

I'm trying this topic over at SMJ with suprisingly little response...

A buddy of mine just picked up some new machining toys and I've been given the okay to use them any time I need to.... A mill, lathe, drill press and even a CNC if I ask real nice...

My first project is going to be a relocation bracket to allow the use of an aftermarket 320mm rotor and the stock caliper... I've built these brackets before for some tricked out CRF50's I've built, but never anything this "large"...

I'm looking for ideas here. What type of material? Where to position the caliper? blah blah blah.... Basically anything that you may think of to help me on my way in producing this part... Who knows... If I get the CNC dialed in maybe I'll have my "better mousetrap"...

Just thought I would add that I am a draftsman by trade and have close to 17 years experience in electro-mechanical design. I'm also skilled in AutoCAD and have my own software. It ain't Pro-E, but it'll have to do...

We've got a good "think tank" going here. Let's hear some ideas...

Sounds like you are the best qualified person to do the design. Aluminum 6061 material. Relocate as needed to to position the pads on the outer dia of the disc. Carve out enough material so it looks cool and that is about it.

I remember Nate mentioning fairly recently that a caliper relocation bracket for the 280mm rotor for an S model will fit as the calipers are the same as on the SM.The spacing would be enough to allow a 320mm rotor to be mounted with the bracket as the increase is about 10mm from the standard 310mm.The rim to caliper clearance would be very close I would think.I believe that the rotor would have to be mounted after bolting up the caliper because it would run extremely close to the rim of the wheel.Motomaster is the only one that makes a kit right now I think.