Sign in to follow this  

How often do you guys crash, fall, bail, etc... riding track?

I have been riding since around February/March mostly Off road and i have had several crashes and get offs at fast speeds or in rocky places with only minor scratches and bruises.

But i have an starting adiction to the local SX track, and i have been riding there for about 2 months.

The problem is that i have taken some hits in the track. (bails, casing jumps, low-sides) And these hits have started to take their toll. (My body is all beaten up from previous sports accidents)

How often do you guys fall while riding SX tracks?

Are things gonna get better once i get the hang of it or am I just to old (28 years old) to learn how to ride SX?

There's a few things we all must remember....

Never race w/ brand new equipment. Seems like it's really bad luck. Second, if you race, RIDE YOUR OWN RIDE and have fun. Third, don't try to show off or you can/will get hurt really bad.

I did all of the above on my first practice lap, during my first race. I crashed and a fellow rider landed on my head.... :thumbsup: my head hurt!! Paramedics were amazed my head was still attached :applause: Thank goodness my neck didn't snap. :ride:

To answer your question, you're more likely to wash out the front end a whole lot if you just take it easy. If you were being a super squid like i was.... then you'll crash a whole lot harder and it'll ruin your day.

I dont race, neither plan to for a while.

I think that maybe the local SX track It`s just 2 much.

2 many doubles/triples very short straightways to catch speed to clear the jumps which by the way are to close in together.

The terrain is another issue its uneven hard terrain where your tires slip all over, and on top of it lots of loose dirt.

So you loose your speeed on the sand then you loose your bike`s rear end on the hard terrain braking and acelerating bumps and so on.