Sign in to follow this  

My first post and questions (1980 cr390)

Hi!

I recently inherited several motorcycles. One is a 1980 Husqvarna cr390.

It had not been ridden or started since the late 90's. I drained the tank and wham bam kick started right up!

I thought the bike had a possible blown head gasket but have verified, to the best of my abilities, that it is not a blown head gasket but a leaking gasket where the exhaust hooks up to the engine.

a few questions:

Is there a place to buy a carb rebuild kit for this bike? or a guide to rebuild carbs in general?

Im new to working on motorcycles but do not fear it. The bike starts on the first kick but i have to give it a little gas just to keep it running. It hesitates sticks intermittently, sometimes the top %15 of the throttle just bogs the bike down. Been mixing generic 2 stroke oil 50:1.

I should mention that i did oil the chain and change the oil before attempting to start it.

Where is a good place to buy parts for this bike? Any good urls for them?

please forgive my noobness and thank you!

-Mark

Take the carb off and disassemble it all the way. Clean it out and replace any jets that can't be cleaned 100%. Replace the spark plug with the right NGK and go riding. Oh, I'm guessing it will need new control cables and the drum brakes cleaned up real good before you get good performance out of them. that's a nice model worth restoring if you want to.

Thanks for the feedback!

Im going to take the carburator apart soon and clean it. Will let yall know how everything goes.

I went to the motorcycle shop and asked for oil for the bike. They gave me one quart of Bel Ray Gear Saver motorcycle transmission oil sae 80w. Does that sound like the right oil to put in the crankcase?

thanks again

That oil will work fine. About any oil without friction modifiers (bad for wet clutches) is good for that task. next time just get the cheap stuff from the automotive section.