Sign in to follow this  

Valve War

When ever a manufacturer improves something on there bike that gives them the edge whether it be susp, motor, etc.. it does not take the other guys long to step it up. I know every brand has there pros and cons for what ever reason but I do not understand why none of the other brands have followed suit behind yamaha on the valve thing. I'm not a mechanic so I dont know if its the argument on better quality metal or the fact they run five valves and not four. I just know from what I see on the boards etc.. over the last few years yamaha's don't need adjustment near as much as everybody else. I think all brands have great bikes but over the course of a year I had my crf450 adjusted four times while my friends yz450f at the end year were still with in spec. Needless to say that even though I would like to try a susuki, or maybe a ktm, my next 450 will be a yamaha just for the fact I wont have to worry about valves but once a year or so. We all have to change tires, brakes,seals etc.. but you would think that if yamaha is winning the reliability factor in the valve department the other brands would want to be of at least equally competitive. Just tired of adjusting valves more than my chain is all. :thumbsup:

I’d like to understand the differences in valve reliability between CRFs and YZFs. It would be hard to tell from a forum like this because most people don’t typically start treads on the subject until they run into a problem. Honda sells a lot more 450s than any other manufacture so of course there are more CRFs running around out there with valve problems. There are a lot of opinions, but I’m not sure how to really tell which bike has a more reliable valve train.