Sign in to follow this  

Rear wheel bearings shot?

I took my rear wheel off for the first time to put on a new sprocket. While I was inspecting everything, I noticed that the wheel bearings don't seem to spin! I've ridden this bike a few hundred miles since I bought it a month or so ago, and I find it hard to believe that my wheel bearings are seized, and the wheel's just spinning by the grace of axel grease. I'm totally new to this, so please tell me I'm missing something.

WheelBearing.jpg

Is the thing in the pic supposed to spin? It doesn't. On either side.

Thanks for the help.

Dammit. That's what I thought. While I'm at it, I may as well check the swingarm bearings as per

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=263748

and the front wheel bearings.

So are there any other things I should be checking that aren't listed in the service guide's maintenance chart? I got this bike (an 01 S) a month or two ago, and every other thing I've looked at has something wrong with it. Here's what the old front sprocket looked like, for instance.

2006-07-23-DeadSprocket.jpg

:thumbsup:

Thank god the engine runs fine. Knock on wood.

I've never seen a front sprocket like that!!!!!

As for other stuff, I'd check all the bearings.. swingarm-linkage, wheels, headstock(this' a big one) and even the chain rollers.

Sounds like she was a bit neglected, so I'd change all the fluids(fork oil too), lube all the cables, check the tightness of every nut, bolt and screw you can get to and have a good look at everything rubber.

Anyone with a soul does this at least once a year.

Thanks, 10Guy and Squid. :thumbsup:

Given the level of care the rest of this bike's gotten, I sincerely doubt it's got the manual tensioner. I did some searching, but I didn't see any summary of the replacement operation. You guys have a Hall of Wisdom somewhere?