Sign in to follow this  

How do you get your bike on the stand??

I know this is a total noob question but I just got a hand-me-down bike stand for my xr250r and I am wondering what the secret is to the bike up on it. The only way I have been able to is by lifting the front end up from the handlebars with me on one side and a friend on another and kicking the stand underneath. I would like to be able to put the bike on the stand by myself.

WHATS THE SECRET?

Bike stand? I don't have no stinking bike stand!

I have a jack stand that I use. I just lean it over on the kick stand and slide it in place. I use two for my GSXR 750. It has spools on the swing arm. I have to lift it and kick the stand in place.

I know TMI

KP :thumbsup:

I got a jack stand. But before that I had a lever stand that the bike fits over. But before that I lifted accross the bike behind the seat to raise the rear wheel off the ground and then rolled and pivoted on the front over the bucket.

Get at the back of the bike with your right thigh against the the left side panel ( left when you're sitting on it ) grip the subframe under the rear fender with your right hand and the handlebars with your left. Lean the bike into your thigh and lift up on the subframe, then once you get the rear tire high enough you should be able straghten the bike up alittle as you move the rear of the bike around and onto the stand using your thigh to push it over.

What I usually do when I'm using a stand is I lean the bike real far over towards me, reach over the bike and pull the stand closer to the bike, then do the lifting, its a little harder at first, but you don't have to move the bike as far this way.

Try it the first way and see how you do, you definately don't need a jack stand, it's an XR, but that doesn't mean you can't lift it.

It just takes a little getting used to, after a few times you won't even think about it.

:thumbsup: