Sign in to follow this  

'02 mods test...stage 1 Hotcam, '05 ignition, 12.5/1 piston

I've been racing my '02 for a few months now, and while I've had plenty of motor to get holeshots and win against '05 and '06's, after riding my old '05 (with a stage 1 Hotcam, stock piston and WB carbon pro) back to back with my '02 I realized how down on power I was...to be honest it amazed me that I had been pulling holeshots in +30B against the newer bikes...with a 48 rear sprocket the '05 had more low end than the '02 did with a 50. Add to that the fact that the '05 carries each gear further and I should have been getting wasted. Mainly, I really did not like the 13/50 gearing on the '02 because it let 3rd rev out too fast, and required a much earlier shift than the 13/48 gearing on the '05. But putting a 48 on the stock '02 killed the low end...it's amazing how much more low end the newer bikes have when you directly compare them. So, I decided to do what it took to be able to pull 13/48 gearing and get my '02 to run like or better than a stock '05.