Sign in to follow this  

Transmission fluid

Hey,

Im new to the forums and to dirtbikes, I just bought an 05 YZ 125 off the showroom floor a couple months ago. Love it, everytime I ride I think of all the years ive missed out on riding....but anyway. I use it for trail riding only, as of yet,and being a newb I obviously dont ride too hard. I was wondering how often I should drain and change tranny fluid Ive got maybe 20 hours on it right now so what do you all think?

Another thing I'm experiencing a little hesitation in first gear under hard acceleration, any tips on that would be greatly appreciated too....

Thanks for any help, Urps

I usaully do mine every 10.. 20 hours seems like ahwile to me but who knows.. I doubt the hesitation in first gear is due to the oil.. but if i was you i would change it and find out.

I wouldn't wait 20 hours again for the oil change. It's cheap and easy to do so why not do it more often?

The hesitation could be many things. A dirty air filter comes to mind, carb adjustment, spark plug, poor gas, etc.

Get your bike caught up w/ the maintenance stuff and then see how she runs. :thumbsup:

I wouldn't wait 20 hours again for the oil change. It's cheap and easy to do so why not do it more often?

The hesitation could be many things. A dirty air filter comes to mind, carb adjustment, spark plug, poor gas, etc.

Get your bike caught up w/ the maintenance stuff and then see how she runs. :thumbsup:

yeah, just check all the regular maintenance stuff and if it's still having trouble, try messing with the carb a little bit. Also you might want to try some different 2 stroke mixes and see which one it runs best with.

Dont get me wrong I know its not the oil, I was just throwing that out there for a little advice