Sign in to follow this  

wr or yz?

i have done some homework and have decided i am going to get a 2001-2003 wr250f or a yz250f, i have looked at the search feature and have found no in depth answer for my criteria, i am 5'3 or 5'4 with boots, weigh about 110, and am almost 15, i am going to shave seat foam and set up the suspension with alot of sag because at 110 pounds i dont need the same amount of travel as someone who weighs 160, i ride about 90% trails that are loose rock, rocky hillclimbs, very deep mud, relatively deep water crossings, smallish jumps, rutted trails, and sharp turns in tight woods will occasionally ride at night. and i ride about 10% motocross, i am not that good at mx. i can handle the weight of the crf 230 so the weight of the wr should not be bad for me. here is a list of things i like about both bikes

wr250f

headlight light

tail light

large capacity fuel tank

wide ratio transmission for fire roads

good for enduro

yz250f

light weight

good for mx

very fast exceleration for hillclimbs

right now i think i am leaning toward the wr, i would rather suffer on the track, than not have lights and larger fuel tank, any opinions on my thoughts, anyone agree or disagree?

Search again. At least 10,000 posts on this wihtin the last 30 days.

(Get the WR)

I would get the yzf because there are a lot of people that use track bikes on trails and you don't have to do much to the bike to use it on trails...if you want lights and a bigger tank, you can get it for the yzf...but I seem to get a lot of miles on a stock tank on my 250f. But they're both good bikes...basically the same except for the lights and tank as you said.