Sign in to follow this  

Broken back

What's up. Just though I would drop a quick word. About 3 weeks ago I had a serious crash. I hit a double-double got out of shape, pinned it through a whoop section and launched it off a large jump pinned in 4th gear.

I'm no rookie. I've been racing for 30 years. I race Vet expert and can hold my own against anyone my age.

So I spent 10 days in the hospital with a broken back. Actually my back is broken in 3 places and the most serious is a CHANCE Fracture of T12. These are very unstable because they go through the entire vertebra horizontally.

Everything is looking up. I only missed a few weeks of work. It's hard to keep me down, even when my doc says I should stay down. I'm not looking for sympathy or money, I'm just pissed because I cant race anymore. Too dangerous and my wife cant take it anymore. I love motocross but I LOVE my wife and after 16 years of marriage I have to choose. She says she cant take the phone calls anymore. I don't blame her. I'll still check out the web sites and go to the races, but it wont be the same. Be careful!!!!

I feel for ya man. I have a similar story. 8 weeks ago I high sided in a rough sweeper and woke up on a back board. Broke the T6 and 4 ribs. I'm 45 and have been riding all my life. This weekend being the 8th week I plan to ride. Hang in there after 3 weeks things start to look better. :thumbsup:

Scary stuff. It's easy to forget that we all take these risks every time we get on the bike. It doesn't matter how good you are, you're still rolling the dice.

I wish the best for you, a full and speedy recovery.

I broke seven bones in my back lats april. I broke t6 t7 t8 and others. Im 17 so i healed up quick and allready throwing down motos :thumbsup: