Sign in to follow this  

swappiing on fast jump

i have been so frustrated this summer, i haven't even rode for a couple of weeks now but i'm ready again. in the past i've never had any trouble jumping now this summer, getting on some new soil, i've been swapping real bad on these doubles that i have to be on the pipe all the way up the face to clear. i'm gripping the bike hard with my legs and it still will swap. when the back end starts to swap it's like i have no power over pulling it back, what am i doing wrong. i'm not a great rider, i'm still learning how to move the bike in the air, but any advice would be appreciated. if all your going to do is rip on me then please save it.

Heres a thread I made about it. I swapped really hard last weekend and was lucky to come out in one piece!

http://www.thumpertalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=405778

Heres what I've gathered so far: Grip hard with your legs going off the face so the bike won't kick so much, if it does kick then use your legs and blip the throttle to try and move the bike back straight, land on the front wheel with the throttle on hard and make sure you're gripping hard with your legs as you land.

Hope this helps

idk about you guys, but personally i just relax on the face and let the bike do whatever it wants. i think some of you guys are getting to concentrated on gripping the bike and not relaxing.

I am curious...if the bike is swapping that much, I would start looking at the suspension setup. You should be able to hold it WFO off the face and unless you are leaning WAY over not have it get sideways that much.

Al

Well sometimes you hit an unexpected bump or rut in the jump face which will throw the bike.

I did this as well on a 50' table that I over jumped. Some poor kid died doing the same thing the next day...kind of makes it real.