Sign in to follow this  

Where to get gps maps.

I just got my Garmin Vista and to my surprise there are no maps on it. I thought that it was going to be ready to go but apparently I have to manually download all the info onto the unit.

Can anyone give me a good site to download maps from. Im new at this and was wondering exactly how much of a map can be stored in this 32mb card. Also is it expensive to get a detailed map of the U.S. (like my Streets and trips cd has)?

Any help would be appreciated.

I believe you can purchase and download maps from Garmin's website. Otherwise most sporting goods stores or electronics stores should also have them on disc. I have a Magellan explorist 400 and i had to pay $150 for topo maps.

Mike :thumbsup::ride:

I have a Magellan explorist 400 and i had to pay $150 for topo maps.

:ride::applause::applause:

I just bought an Explorist 400 at Academy. It was the "Wilderness Pack", or something to that effect. The set came with the GPS, 32 meg SD card, Mapsend Topo 3D software, and a USB data cable/charger for $199.

It is a cool little GPS unit. :thumbsup:

Here is another site that I used. They have some good prices on the gps units and it seems like the software is a few bucks less. I have both the Garmin topo and city nav v8.0. I used the topo maps first and it did nothing for me with finding my way around on the streets or FS roads but after loading the Nav v8.0 now it seems like the gps is doing what I wanted it to do. I have the E-trex Vista cx with the 256 memory card so I have no issues with memory. Keep in mind I am a gps NOOB so I may not be down loading the topo information correctly or reading it correctly. After I have a little more time under my belt I will revisit the topo map stuff.

Linky

I read on a post a while back about a website where members share GPS coordinates and routes, ect... I've been trying to google it w/ no luck. Does anyone know what site I'm talking about?