Sign in to follow this  

Should I shim exhaust valves?

I know this is beat to death, and I've read all the strings I could find with the search. But, since I'm new to valves (first thumper), I though I should ask before proceeding.

My intake valves are in spec. (.005), but the exhaust valves are out of spec.. Left .008, right .009 (s/b .010 - .012)

Is this close enough if they are not moving? Might be a dumb question, but when my dealer checked them this spring he said they were a 'little tight' and that was OK.

Looks pretty easy to shin just the exhaust side, should I just do it or not fix what's not broken. Bike seems to run fine. :thumbsup:

shim them. The reason why the exhaust valves have a higher clearance then the exhaust is because they need to seat fully to cool off. The fraction of a second that they are closed transfers the heat to the head and keeps you from burning a valve. So again, shim them

shim them. The reason why the exhaust valves have a higher clearance then the exhaust is because they need to seat fully to cool off. The fraction of a second that they are closed transfers the heat to the head and keeps you from burning a valve. So again, shim them

:ride::thumbsup::applause: what he said.

Where in CO are you. If you need help I'm in Frederick it thats any where close to you I'll com by and give a hand if you want.

Looks like I'll be shimming!

Hit the Set - thanks for the offer, I'm in Loveland. I've got the sticky that shows how to do it and it doesn't look very difficult, especially since I'll only be doing the exhaust side. The most critical part seems to be getting the cam bracket bolts torqued correctly. Do you clean and lock-tite them .. or leave them dry? My guess is dry ...