Sign in to follow this  

turning issues,can any one help me!

hi,i have owned my 06 rmz450 for about 1 and a half months.i am a vet expert rider coming off a 02 ktm 520.i loved that bike but it was time for a new bike so i went with rmz after hearing good things about it especially the turning.the ktm i owned was not supposed to turn good,but turning was never an issue.now for the rmz,i have 6-7 hrs on it,rearsprocket 50t,fork and shock springs for my weight from race tech specs,106mm of sag,front tire bridgestone m201(which i have used generally for the last few years,stock rear tire.i tried multiple fork and shock rebound and compression settings,and have dropping the forks in the triple clamps. I do not have any confidence in the front because when i ride aggresively and drive hard into turns the front end just seems to knife and it slides out .some one please help,ive been told it's a great bike im going to sell it if i cant ride it.

Thats wierd, i don't own one of these bikes but i rode one a couple weekends back, one of the easiest bikes to corner that i have ever ridden. Maybe you should try to get accustomed to it, all bikes take some time to get used to especially when you are switching brands. Thats the most help i can give but i bet someone else on here will have more info for you in a short while. hang in there

First off, you are going in the correct direction with your rear sag, then sliding the fork tubes up (mine are up about 3mm higher than stock), and playing with compression and rebound. You want to back off on compression so the front will settle, and you want enough rebound so it stays settled. Also, if you upped the front spring rate, you'll need less compression. Also make sure you don't have excessive rear rebound, as that would tend to hold the rear down in corners and therefore not turn as well.