Sign in to follow this  

Can a 250 bike become a real SuperMoto?

Hi all,

First off, I am a complete newbie concerning SuperMoto. In fact, I am not even a noob, since I don't even have a SM bike and have never ridden one. So please, treat me gently. :-)

Most SM bikes that I have seen in pics and video seem to be 400 cc or larger bikes.

Would it be accurate to say that SM'ing a 250 4-stroke bike is sort of pointless?

Do they lack the power required for the drifting that this style is so famous for?

Would the trusty XR250R be worth SM'ing?

And another question: I use 18/21 rear/front tyres. They're dual sports, Pirelli MT60. Would it be impossible/dangerous/foolhardy for an experienced SM rider to attempt drifting (or whatever it is called in SM) with these tyres? They are decidedly not slicks, but not knobbly either. In any case, my question is more aimed at the rim size, more than the tread.

Thank you for your patience with these silly questions.

d.

No problem at all.

The drifting doesn't come from power at all. It comes from being hard enough on the front brake that the rear gets light and floats around just due to the engine compression braking. In other words you need to be 1/2 a step shy of doing a stoppie.

The MT60 is a fine tire to motard on for any purpose shy of actual racing. The biggest issue is that the stock dual sport front brake just can't generate the braking force required to properly get the rear end light enough to do the floaty back it in sort of braking drift.

So in your case and just like in the case of my DR350 we are confined to using the front and back brakes together to just slow down enough to turn in.

If you want to try getting at least a feel for the rear sliding out then hunker forward on the tank and hang over the handlebars and squeeze down on both the front and rear while pulling in the clutch. If you do it right the rear will get light enough to lock up and you can sort of get the feel of drifting it in.