Sign in to follow this  

What do you think about a CRF250R or a YZ250F...

I'm a newbie and hope to have a new bike in the next couple days. I am looking at a CRF250R or YZ250F. I would like to do mostly trail riding and some MX track (no racing though). I like the idea of a light bike and would like to go with the mx style. What do ya'll think?

I'm 27 yrs old, 6'1", 200#.

You said you were going to do modtly trail riding.

If its too tech, steep, loose stuff. A 250 F will barely do it, and might have valve problems if you are constantly overreving it. Specially because of your weight.

If its tight trail riding i dont think it matters much.

A 250 F is excelent for track riding, specially since you aren`t compiting. They are easy to ride.

Another option might be a 250 2 stroke MXer (YZ 250 CR 250), that would be a hell lot more fun at the trails and still good at the track.

There are upsand downs rewarding costs, manteinance, weight/power relationship on 2 stroke vs 4 stroke.

But i think it all comes down to how hard do you ride and what kind of trails you`ll be riding.

For example i bought a wr 250 on February as my first bike, and after 3 months i was looking for more power. I found a cheap CR 250 and i`m happier as i could be.

Whatever you do dont get a trail bike or a WR, CRFX... those arent track friendly.

On the other hand the Mxer can be rode at the trail as they are.

Track bikes and trail bikes have lots of differences that make them better at the type of riding they are designed for. Lots of posts in here about it (YZ v. WR type discussions).

Both are great bikes. Yamaha is felt by pretty much everyone to be much more reliable. Hondas have a history of valve problems, if that is solved in the '07 bikes it's anyone's guess.

I think a 250 two-stroke would be better suited for you. A 250 two-stroke will be far more dependable while still giving you the performance you want on the track and trail.