Sign in to follow this  

FCR-MX installed, need some help

Well everything went well, I have been riding my 2000S with the new FCR and open Yosh RS3. I am jetted to burned specs at sea level. 160mj, 45 pilot, fuel screw 2 turns out, 3rd clip on EMN needle, 3x3, etc. Overall great improvment but a few problems.

Bike wants to die at idle when warm, unless I crack the throttle slightly. Also it pops and gurgles alot on decel (i know some is normal) I was thinking of opening the fuel screw 1/4 turn but Im a newb, so whaddya think? Also I had a few drops of oil on the ground under the airbox vent after riding, could that be related somehow? ie filter issue?

...... Overall great improvment but a few problems.

Bike wants to die at idle when warm, unless I crack the throttle slightly. Also it pops and gurgles alot on decel (i know some is normal) I was thinking of opening the fuel screw 1/4 turn but Im a newb, so whaddya think? Also I had a few drops of oil on the ground under the airbox vent after riding, could that be related somehow? ie filter issue?

Checkthis post out. The oil probably ran off your filter. It may have been over oiled.Search for oiling techniques and filter recommendations. Personally i would use No-Toil.

Well I was unable to get to the fuel screw while it was runnning but I turned the fs out about 1/4 turn, helped a little but still lots of garble at decel. Guess I'll try another 1/4.

I forgot to mention that it is smoking alot, especially when revving at a standstill, (can't tell while riding) Is that anything to worry about? Bike is 2000 DRZ-S with only 2k miles.

What colour is the smoke ???

I have also just fitted an FCRMX on a 2000 DRZ, I have my fuel screw at 1 turn.

Which is incidentally how it came out the box, I started at 2 turns, but that is far to rich, and produces lots of black smoke.

I also feel it is too rich on the needle range on the 3rd clip.

I have already dropped the main jet to 155 and may try a 152.