Sign in to follow this  

About to upgrade.. Husky maybe??

Hey all,

I know these threads pop up all the time but I am new to the whole husky thing and couldn't really find the same leap I am about to make when searching.

Anyways, I have been riding trails for about 2 years now so I am fairly green, but I love it and I am hooked. I am thinking of getting a new bike over the winter and I am seriously considering a Husky. The thing is I don't care too much about riding on the street although I can't rule that out as an option, but right now I live 30 miles from work In Sacramento and people scare me in my truck.

Regardless I have a Kawasaki 2000 KLX 300R and I like the bike. It has a couple things wrong with it IE the throttle doesn't spring back to closed so I have cruise control essentially and some other problems that come with a 6 year old bike.

My main question is how different is the ride from that bike, something obviously built for trail riding which is what I do the most of and lets say a 07' TE 450 which is what I am looking at? Is that a good leap for me?

This may be the wrong forum to ask this but what is a comparable bike from other manufactures?

Thanks in advance for the advice. I have been picking up mags but I don't see Husky represented at all in there but reading through your forum it seems to be my #1 so far.

Keep in mind, I am new... may have said like 10 dumb things in here so go easy on me :thumbsup:

The 450 will have loads more power, even the 250 has much more power than your KLX. It really depends on your size and what you are looking for in your next bike and dont rule out the TE250. The 450 is very quick and snappy and almost feels like an MX bike power wise and the stock suspension IMO is also much better than the KLX. I think the KLX300 makes a pretty good trail bike but they are just under powered, which in some situations can be a good thing. Good luck with your descision. :thumbsup: