Sign in to follow this  

Leveling my bike in the air

Hi, I am somewhat new to Motocross-style riding. I have, however, been riding trails on thumpers and some 2 and 4 stroke quads. Anyways I went to Irish Valley MX park some time ago and absolutely loved riding the supercross track there (this is in NEPA BTW). I was a little aprehensive and held back about doing some of the doubles in the rhythm section and other assorted jumps there especially on the motocross course, mostly because several time when I jumped tabletops or smaller jumps either my front end would be too high in the air and I'd land back tire first or the back end was in the air and I would land on front wheel first. I noticed some guys there, and I sat on my bike and watched for awhile and "studied" them, Of course I have watched MX and SX for years though but up close is cool. anyways I always see hitting front brake and rear brake and revving throttle to level bike. Can someone tell me what does what and if front and rear brakes, and throttle actually do anything in terms of leveling my bike out mid-jump?

I also shold mention I am 25, really skinny I weigh 123, and hieght is 5' 6 1/2". The bike im riding is a '90 kx80 bored 2mm over Pro Circuit Plat Pipe FmF shorty.. It's really nice and fast. I know alot of you wil sya It sway too small for me, and you are right I doscoverd that, at the IrishValley. BUT like I said I ride trails and I love it in the woods, It's light and I can throw it around, and climb steepp goat opath-liek hills liek they are nothin it really fun too!!.. So, the small bike and my heigth and weight a defenitie reason why I'm goin squirrely in the air sometimes? I am going up too a 125 next spring for MX and SX. But I would stil like to know about front, rear brakes for leveling purposes

Thank You,

SJF :thumbsup:

Revving the throttle will make your front end go up. Back brake will make your front end drop. Not sure about front brake.