Sign in to follow this  

what is a hare scramble? Can a DR650 handle one?

I was lurking on one of the other forums on TT and read of a hare scramble in my area. I am new to organized riding, it sounds interesting, but I am wondering if my 98 could stand the beating it might take. Has anyone ever done such a thing on a DR650?

Up until the 50's races like this were run on Harleys then Triumphs and Honda before there were real dirt bikes. Just go the speed that you are comfortable with. By the end of the second hour it probably won't be the bike that you are worrying about anyway. Check with the promoter to see if the terrain is extreme - deep water, log crossings, giant boulders etc. but usually not in a Hare Scrambles. Actually they were great fun but you will be sore the day after.

I'm not sure about the terrain/tracks where you live, but here in Ohio they vary dramatically as far as difficulty. I would ride a Hare Scramble with a DR650 (properly equipped)...but I wouldnt race one. It'd probably be a good idea to go and watch one first at the track you are considering.

I'm not sure about your skill level, I would recommend a good year of riding before setting a wheel on a track.

Sometimes tracks have a sportsman class which cater to beginner racers. There are lots of guys out on the track that are riding just to finish a race. There are also guys that drop out from fatigue (pace yourself). One of the most grueling things you'll ever have to do is hold on to a trophy position when you are dead tired...loaded down with mud...legs that ceased to function a half hour ago...arms ache...thirsty....and the guy behind you wants the trophy......and there is 40 min to go!!

Be curtious to faster riders coming up...just stick to a line to one side of the trail. If you dont, the leaders can (and will) be agressive in passing but for the most part, riding is very gentlemanly.