Sign in to follow this  

3x3 mod Q's

if i don't jet my 06 SM right away, will the 3x3 mod make it run too lean? it already runs a little lean(most says it's normal from factory). but i want to do the 3x3 and jet it, but dealer isn't open yet! is it safe to 3x3 and wait a couple days to jet it?

and if i make to hole smaller to start 2x2 would it be better(less lean) than going 3x3 right away? would bigger than 3x3 be beneficial if going big bore(450+cc) in future, or is that the biggest it'll ever need? thanks!

--keith

if you have the total itch to cut a hole, cut the hole to 3x3 and cover it up with duct tape until you install the jet kit.

how do i factor in altitude with the recommended jet kit for the FCR, 3x3 and a full exhaust? im in ohio(not sure elev.) but just move needle clip position, or am i changing pilots/mains again to compensate? you seem to be one of the more knowledgeable ones, so i figured id ask. im new to high tech 4-strokes, but i've always jetted my 97+ 2-stroke race bikes myself.

and im gonna get the FCR right away, but can i tune a 41mm FCR to run a lightly modded SM and the big bore kit of my choice? i won't go big bore until i need to rebuild(long time) probably, but would like to get everything ASAP. will it run the stock bore cylinder with a header, slip on, 3x3 ok with the jetting corrected? and still be fine for the 490whatever big bore? sorry for being redundant, but i'd like to know options and don't want to buy a 39mm carb then go 49X big bore THEN need 41mm or something. THANKS!

--keith