Sign in to follow this  

Ktm 525sx

Looking for opinions on anyone who has lived with one of theses bikes.

I have the chance to buy brand new 2005 model at a very decent price.

I currently ride a 250sxs 2 stroke and am consideing this as an addition not as a replacement but I have very little experience on a four stroke and am wondering if it may be a bit of a handful.

It is the only one in the shop and as it is new they won't let me try before i buy.

Generally speaking, the 520/5 models were gentle giants.

It acts like a 450, just with alot more oompf.

My '01 520 actually felt surprisingly mild. Yet, if you rode it ham fistedly, you could end up on the ground.

If you're playing around, it should be fun. If you plan on racing, you'd better be fairly big, in shape, and skilled. Iknew an average sized guy who raced on in the junior class, and after lap 2, it rode him more than he rode it. Always got the holeshot though. Knew another guy with a 520, and even though he was easily over 300lbs, he always got the holeshot too.

I do intend racing it, we have the thumper cross series over here and I fancy giving it a shot. I weigh around 220pounds, 6ft 3in tall and do train hard to keep in shape but I'm no horsepower junkie and can also get a new 2005 450sx even cheaper. I was really just wondering if the 525 would have been better due to my size.

Well, I do have, like mentioned, an '01 520SX, and an '04 450SX.

THe 520 is faster, but the 450 is quicker.

I actually used the 520SX for hare scrambles, usually won my class, and was ready to upgrade to expert class when I blew the motor twice (whoops) and quit the racing.

THe 520 will tire you out if you ride it wrong. Riding it correctly, you can go all day on it. It is a LUGGER BIKE. DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT rev that machine. Doing so will tire you out so fast it's not funny.

USE the unholy torque, and the bike is insanely nice. It will eat any 450 any day of the week. I don't care what it is!