Sign in to follow this  

Opinions please

I read some of the other posts related to the 06 vs 07 but my situation is a little different. I have an 06 KX250F, which is practically brand new so we are not getting an 07. However, I am interested in the KX450F. I am a Novice rider 6'0" 155lbs. I want some opinions on how the bike is in stock form for 06. Obviosly I would save some bank buying an 06 vs buying an 07 but if there are some serious problems or dislikes for 06, I would spend the money for an 07. Main question is the 4 speed vs 5 speed. I use 5th gear on my 250F on 20% of the tracks I ride so I'm guessing the 4 speed would be fine. Any two cents from anyone helps, Thanks.

We have both so I have switched back many times. They are totally different bikes in more ways than just motor size. My son rides the 250F and I have the 450F. Everytime he gets on my bike he will come back in and say he has to stop riding it or he won't get back on his bike, it is way easier to ride. Problem is, for someone just starting out or wanting to learn to go fast the 250F is better for that. The reason is the 450F is easy and will tend to make you lazy, the 250F you have to work at to ride fast, so in turn it will make you faster.

Really depends on your situation. My son is 16 and want to learn to ride so he wants to avoid the 450F until he learns proper technique. I'm 44 years old and have been riding and racing since 1977, I've learned all I'm going to learn so I'm ready to be lazy now.

I just hope that the 5 speed is really really good because I like the the 4, if the ratios are close to last year then it will be great!

I agree with KARTERRON,