Sign in to follow this  

Headshake... how to fix it?

Hey guys,

I had a couple bad head shakes on my bike (05crf450) the other day and was wondering what can be done to fix it? It didnt seem to do it before, but maybe its time to change the fork oil, if that would even make a difference.

Thanks,Dave.

steering damper is always nice, not sure about the fork oil. Try raising the fork tubes up in the clamps that seemed to help me.

I have heard of guys tightening up their steering stem so as to cause a little drag on the bearings. They claim this helps. I am not so sure that this is a good idea as you may run the risk of damaging your bearings.

I'm no expert and mean no disrespect but wouldn't raising the forks in the clamps be more likely to induce head shake? The bearings may need tightening to the specified setting as noted above.

I've found three causes of head shake personally (sometimes painfully). First was too little race sag (fork angle too steep). Second was too much race sag (fork angle too shallow). Third was too much fork rebound damping combined with too little fork compression damping (fork packing - fork angle too steep). I'm sure there are other causes....

I'm no expert and mean no disrespect but wouldn't raising the forks in the clamps be more likely to induce head shake? The bearings may need tightening to the specified setting as noted above.

Yes, it would turn quicker, but would be more likely to shake. Still dont think that is the problem. You gotta squeeze the bike with your legs.

Yes, it would turn quicker, but would be more likely to shake. Still dont think that is the problem. You gotta squeeze the bike with your legs.

Kinda like squeezing a turd? :thumbsup:

Kinda like squeezing a turd? :thumbsup:

:ride::applause::applause::applause::ride::applause:

If you're getting those kind of results, you may be squeezing a little too much!!!

Like skipn8r said, the ride sag would be the first thing I'd check....