Sign in to follow this  

The CR85 Vs 125L

Hi all, i am new to TT still a little unsure about this, but i do need a little help:

i am 15, (short), riding about 2 1/2 years and would like to know whether a two stroke or a small four stroke would be the way to go.

i am too small for a 125 (two stroke)

thanks in advance

What kind of riding do you intend to do? MX or Enduro? Or just trail puttin?

What is your skill level? On a 1-10, 1 being barely able to handle a clutch, 10 being a class A rider that makes the top 5 every week.

i will be doing trail rides, with a few large jumps, i dont race, but MAY try try the local "kamfari" if i get good enough, i do know how to use a clutch, can definitly manage it (did farm work on a crf 100-boring-) chasing sheep gets interesting on the clutch!

Well, the TTR 125L makes a great trail bike, and has HUGE potential for hop ups, and is rock solid reliable. Not the most powerful bike, but reliability and ease of maintenance is great. Needs a frame cradle from BBR right out of the box, and some basic mods to reach its best potential. Check the TTR forum for the list of free mods.

The CR85 can be a handful on more technical riding, but the power surge is a blast, but will tire you out faster. Can be a fun bike, and doesn't need much stock to be fast.

TTR's can be had much cheaper here in the states than a 85 of similar age.

how short are you? i am about the same age as you and short but i am going to get a 125 or 250 smoker and lower it. i have been riding quite a bit longer than you but i would get an 100 2 stroke or a crf150.

I have both a ttr125 and a cr80 bigwheel for my 15 and 12 yr old girls,

my 12 yr old rides the cr80 and says WOW dad my bike is way faster then the 125....the 80 is a tad taller also..