Sign in to follow this  

'06 YZ 250 owners

I have an '01 YZ 250 that's been the best bike I've ever owned. However, I've seen some great deals on '06's and maybe it's time for a change. My question is: How much better are the new 250's compared to mine? Do the improvements justify the whole expense/headache of buying/selling? My bike is in excellent mechanical shape and has: Pro Circuit pipe/silencer, Race Tech suspension, carbon fiber reeds, X-ring chain, new Dunlops, new sprockets, and a FWW. I know I would take a beating on the sale, but if it's worth it I'll do it. Ideally, I'd like an opinion from someone who's owned both. I'm a vet B rider who really never races anymore. All of my buddies have switched to 4stks. so I can't really ride one to figure it out for myself! I apologize for the long post and appreciate any responses!-THANKS!

I as well have an 01 with everything on it redone by REP. I have ridden the 06 and the only really difference i can tell is that it just feels newer. Im sure you know what i mean by that. Just newer bottom line. My bike is way faster with the 15 grand i have tied up in the motor and suspenion alone. Like momma always said dude. Stick with what you know you like. Best word of advice. You know u got a fast great reliable bike now. If you get an 06 it will be the same if not a little slower and you will be putting yourself through all of that headace. If it were up to me. I wouldnt do it.

Todd