Sign in to follow this  

maintenance intervals

I was wondering how often you do maintenece on you bike such as oil changes, oil and fuel filter changes, engine rebuilds, jetting, and everything else. I am new to biking so i dont know what to do and how often. My bike runs great right now but i dont want to neglect preventative maintenance and pay for it later. I have a 02 yz250ff and 00 yz426f but we do not race or ride track, we only ride trails with them.

Thanks

I was wondering how often you do maintenece on you bike such as oil changes, oil and fuel filter changes, engine rebuilds, jetting, and everything else. I am new to biking so i dont know what to do and how often. My bike runs great right now but i dont want to neglect preventative maintenance and pay for it later. I have a 02 yz250ff and 00 yz426f but we do not race or ride track, we only ride trails with them.

Thanks

How DO you maintain jetting? Anyway, I do oil changes every other race and air filters every race. Thats about 30 mins of riding each race so you figure out the details. :thumbsup: I replace the oil filter every other oil change also

first off try using the search feature for all of your questions. there is a ton of information that will answer anything you need more in depth than i can explain. i do mostly trail riding myself. but i have some wide open fields to ride also. i change the oil every 3-4 hours of riding. i also change the oil filter with every oil change. i put on a clean air filter usually every other oil change. i mostly ride by myself, but when i ride with others there is more dust, so i change the air filter at the end of the riding day, no matter how many hours. i also check my valve clearances every other oil change. as far as jetting goes, you really need to do some research. jetting requirements change with the weather, temperature, and altitude.