Sign in to follow this  

How to ride a SM on the street?

I've been riding big street bikes for many years, most recently a 2003 Suzuki Bandit 1200s, a 550lb sport-street bike. I ride somewhat aggressivlly when I can find twisties in Wisconsin, but now I bought a 2005 DRZ400SM and I already put it down. (no major damage to me or the bike) I have never been down on the street before and have over 50k miles under my belt. I guess I just thought it was the same as riding a street bike. I now know its not.

I come from a street riding background, but have limited dirt riding experience.

Is there some sort of book, or web-site that explains how to ride a SM? or even one of you fine folks.

Something that starts with the basics and works its way up...

I just lack confidence in the front end now, and want to know the basics... Like for example, why you put the leg out, and how to put it out, at what angle and such...

Thanks Guys...

Ahh, old dog new trick. It's different but the same. It does help to have some dirt bike experience but not necessary. You first have to look at the fact that you can wrestle the bike more than the bike wrestle you being it weighs about half of what your bike weighs. Scoot up to the front of the seat, elbows up and relaxed, point and shoot. RIde that front wheel like a unicycle. A lot of people without dirt bike experience, will sit on it just like they do a bike like your other bike which is the middle to back of the seat thus putting all the weight on the rear and hardly any on the front. Just paly around and you'll figure it out.

try a class with Darrick Lucchesi of www.westcoastsupermoto.com he does events in Shawano, WI.

good investment for your safety even if you don't plan to race. I'm sure your recent get-off will cost more the the $250 class fee. Good luck and welcome to the sport!