Xr400r 2003 Manual Compression Removal

Can I Remove The Manual Compression On My 2003 Xr400r Without Hurting Anything. I Am New To This And Need Help Badly.

It will not hurt anything to remove it. My advice is to leave it on there, it is very useful for easy engine starting, especially if you drop the bike and the engine floods.

Thanks, Is That The Only Reson It Is There Is For If It Get Flooded?

It is also an assist in cold starting. With choke on, kill switch pressed, no throttle, pull compression release and make several priming kicks. Then, release kill switch and compression release, find TDC and kick away.

Thanks, Is That The Only Reson It Is There Is For If It Get Flooded?

I've had 4 XR400s and never used it. I take them off.

I've taken mine off after the first year I had it. Never used it, dropped or other wise. Leave the little spring on the lever thingy on the head.

I've had 4 XR400s and never used it. I take them off.

i've got two 400's now, i've taken off the levers and cables a years ago, never looked back (and i race too)

Thanks Guys I Appreciate It A Lot

I only use mine to prime when cold starting. Otherwise it's not like a 650 with too much compression. The lever has come in handy on the trail more than once when I have crashed and broke the clutch lever. I do carry extra levers, gearshift, etc..., but after loaning all my extra levers out I needed one. Off came the decomp lever and onto the clutch. That day was full of bike carnage. No one got hurt though.

Don't any of you 400 guys ride technical downhills? The decom lever is a life saver when you stall going downhill (steep loose), pull in the clutch and the decom, let out the clutch and then the decom and boom your running again.

Nothing worse than kick starting on the side of a hill or getting to the bottom and haveing a steep hill you need momentum for and haveing a dead motor.