Sign in to follow this  

I picked up my bike!

Literally, I picked it up with my own two arms, such that both wheels and all parts were off the ground. And I moved it onto my stand, too.

I'm relatively new to the dirtbike world, also when compared to the streetbike world. I've not done much maintenance to the dirtbike yet, save for a couple oil changes, so the stand hasn't really been used. Once I tried to put the bike on it for shits-n-giggles. You know, you just have to try something out when you first get it, right? I don't think I made it all the way and gave up, figuring I'll obtain the technique when the time is necessary.

Well, I'm getting the tires changed so I needed to put it on the stand to get the wheels off. My initial placement had it too far forward. Crap. It can't really slide on the stand either. So I put my left arm under the lower, front frame spar, and my right under the lower subframe spar. HEAVE. Yeah, I put my arms around the bike and lifted it up. ('88 XR250R...dry weight of 240...bike is completely wet)

Not bad for a small-framed, 5'7" guy, eh? Damned good thing I am strong. (Thank you weight lifting!) It's a good thing I only spent $20 on this standard dirtbike stand (which might normally retail for $40 to $50, but I wait for deals), 'cause I think it's already time for one of those pedal-raising stands or whatever they are called! Or maybe I just need to go to school and learn the correct technique for putting a bike on a static stand.

New tires by this weekend! These cheap Shinko DP's are worthless....and that's coming from someone who doesn't even know better yet! (I have never ridden on knobbies.)

:censored:

Its quite easy actually, takes much less effort than you were using haha.

K first you turn the handlebars all the way towards the side youre on...

2nd you grab the rear fender as close to the seat as possible..