START OR JOIN RIDING CLUB? Read more... ×
Sign in to follow this  

Highest octane pump gas? Good/bad brands? Race gas by the gallon? Octane booster?

I'm originally from Massachusetts where we could get 93 octane from EVERY gas station, and Ultra 94 at Sunoco. Between the two I never had any detonation problems in any vehicle I've ever owned (well, except for a modified SVT Lightning running 12 lbs of boost, but thats a different story).

Anyway, now that I'm a SoCal resident and riding MX again on a pretty regular basis, I was hoping you guys could get me up to speed on west coast gas. The highest octane I can recall seeing while filling up my truck over the past few years is 91 octane.

Have you guys found anything better than 91 at a pump? If so, where was it / what brand? If not, are there specific brands of 91 octane that I should purposely look for OR avoid?? Finally, is there anywhere you know of that will sell race gas by the gallon (i.e., one or two, not a 5-gallong jug)?

I live in San Diego, but normally ride at either Lake Elsinore or Amago.

Thanks for the help.

-Garrett

91 octane is the highest premium gas there is at the pump although a local 76 station (in Norco) sells 105 octane race fuel but those stations are usually few and far between. 91 is what I run in my bike. I think there are quite a few dealers that sale race fuel. I think there is a place right by the Elsinore tracks that sells it but I forget the name of them. I think it is Grant Langston's place but I am not sure.

Yea...welcome to Kalifornia. 91 is the highest you will find at *most* pumps. There are a few 76 stations that sell race fuel but few and far between. Just about any shop will be selling 5gal cans of race fuel as well. I think in a few more years you will see 92/93 disappear nation wide as the new EPA laws go in to effect and the rest of the country has to start using the same gas standards that we have here. I think it is 08 or 09 those go in to effect.