Sign in to follow this  

'07 450sxf Low End - is it a big deal?

I'm still debating a new 450 sxf but keep reading 'not-so-nice' comments about the low end power. My question is - Is it really that noticable?

I'm a 40 year old vet novice (5'10" - 210 lbs) and more of a motocross rider than a racer (mid pack finishes and having a ball). Last year I raced a WR450 with YZ plastics (love the estart man!). So I'm thinking that even if the KTMs low is not so great, it's might (no, make that PROBABALY) be plenty for me (without having to powerbomb the thing).

My plan was to have it fitted with a 42 pilot and fron & rear factory connection suspension before I pick it up. I still land on my back tire off all jumps and slam the front pretty hard on a regular basis. I figured the suspension is a must for my weight and riding style (or lack of).

I'm having a hard time deciding between a new YZ and the SXF. I'm thinking I can ignore the mags and the KTM will be plenty for a guy like me. Am I out of my mind or should I plan on a mod due to my weight?

Also - i have a quote of 7K +tax out the door AND he said he'd roll the cost of the FC suspension job onto the financing AND they's put it back together for free. Thats 200 off and no extras - good price?

Thoughts?

I'm a 40+ vet novice myself and although this is my first four stroke I feel no lack of power anywhere. In fact, for some the mild low to mid transition is a benefit. Don't believe the mags (especially MXA), they assume everyone is an expert. These days, all these bikes are pretty much equal and its all the rider. Definately do the suspension as your weight calls for stiffer springs.

Hey CBB - I see you're also from Massachusetts. Do you ride any of the NCSC races - maybe we've crossed paths? (I live South of Boston).