Sign in to follow this  

fcr problem

im trying to fit a fcr39 carb of a 04 yzf to a 01 drzs , im having issues fitting it ,throttle wheel hits frame etc found help for that problem. just when i try fit airboot and subframe to carb i have approx 10mm gap and cant figure out problem i bought a e model airboot

sorry might not have been clear enough im not good with computers basically when everything is installed i have a gap of 10mm between back of carb and air boot. drz s with 04 yzf fcr carb drz e air boot am i missing a part?thanks

I had the same thing. I tighted the adaptor from the head to the carb then gently pried the carb back onto the air boot with 2 long screwdrivers. while using my once hand a leg to pry i used my other to tighten the clamp.... good luck

it wont work.it has a non removeable intake bell.

you cannot fit the proper adpater to make it fit the air boot.

the cable tower is also as notes.

i put the same carb on my 06 s model. the gap will have to be taken up with some customizing. Its do able. But it is very difficult to close the gap properly. As far as the cable housing goes. the carb will have to tilt to the left slightly. Not the best setup. Best option is to off that carb and find different one from a honda or suzuki.

thanks for help i thaught all fcr carbs were similar enough to install my mistake , so rmz or crf any year do ? i dont want this problem again ,also would a new fcr mx carb fit straight in there with e model air boot or do i also need adapter

whats the story with the removable air bell i asumed the carb body was one piece

I actually just completed an install with a 1 piece body FCR carb on my 05 400SM. It took some work, but I did it in a Saturday morning.