Advice on my 7-year old daughter

She's all girl, but she's strong and loves sports (I'm her soccer coach). She has done a bit of BMX on practice nights only. She sees dad riding and is getting interested. Now that she's beginning to take instruction better (listening to her dad), I'm thinking about taking the step to get her into easy trail riding, and a bit of beginner track (no competition, even though she keeps saying she wants to race). Since she does BMX, the only additional equipment she'll need are boots, and sundry pads... and a bike:

The 50cc bikes are just a little small for her (although she'll still have a ball), and by the time fall comes around, she'll likely fit into a PW80 nicely. I like the light weight of the 2T and since I can restrict it, it will suit her okay.

As far as training, my plan is to ease her into this v.e.r.y. slowly (too slowly for her, just fine for me). Being a former flight instructor, I'll do it the same way. A nice intro-walk around, followed by taxing practice... :censored:

Her first "ride" will be engine off, standing and sitting on the bike, getting used to the controls. Then I'll roll her down the street as she actuates the brakes and makes turns. Then I'll take the corked-up PW over to some nice wide-open spaces (I wish we had more grass, and less rocks in Arizona), and have her putt around.

Since I benefited from taking a class from Destry Abbott earlier in the month, I'll try to quickly locate a kid-class for her as well. They have those from time to time.

Any comments?

Thanks,

Rick

Phoenix, Arizona

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hi Rick!