Sign in to follow this  

Whats with all the valve problems?

Had to ask this question, I have an 05 250r that I bought new in May of 06 and raced it all fall and practiced on it at least once a week. Ive changed the oil and air filter every other time its been ridden. Im an intermediate vet rider and usually hitting the rev limiter very often. My bike starts first or second kick every time and I have never checked the valves. Some local mechanics have told me that most people spend way to much time checking valves when they should leave well enough alone. They say as soon as you start having trouble starting the bike they should probably be checked.Have I just been lucky or should they really be checked? Just looking for opinions, I read a lot about all the valve problems on here and it seems that most are contributed to poor maintanance. What do you guys think?

I have the same bike. Cool bike. But hey it doesn't hurt to check unless you're a hack and get a bunch of dirt in there while you're checking. I bought my 05 250R also in May of 06 and it had been ridden and I ride it twice a week. Valve clearances are as stock specified after all that. But isn't it wise to just take a half hour every couple months and see what's going on in there? From what I've heard, the clearances may not change at all and then all at once when the coating on the parts is gone, so is the clearance. Valves are over rated.

my 05 lasted between a 100-110 hours before the valves went south, i check them every 10-15 hrs of riding or when the starting gets hard

On my 06 The valves lasted one hundred hours before the first adjustment, and that was normal riding, hitting the limiter now and then... And now 10-15 hours later when I put in a new piston/rings/wrist pin, cam chain etc. They have not moved at all.