Sign in to follow this  

Best bike for 25K miles thru Africa

Hey boys. First post, dumb question. I want a 400-450cc dirt bike to ride Africa – Morocco to South Africa, and north to Cairo. Ten months and 25,000 miles in all, much of it in BFE. Bikes that look good for this adv:

Yamaha WR450F

Suzuki DR-Z 400

Honda CRF450

Which do you think is best for this rip? I'm a veteran rider but don’t know much about dirt bikes. I don’t care about comfort. I don’t care about street legal aspects and don’t mean to open up that debate. What I am concerned about is:

Overall durability: About 25,000 miles, 70% of it in BFE dirt, mud, and sand. Tough going but a modest pace given I’ll be packing luggage.

Frequency of oil changes & other maintenance: Would the Yamaha and Honda need more frequent oil changes than the Suzuki DR-Z, being more finely tuned race-oriented machines? More finicky than the DR-Z? Anybody know the oil change frequency specs on these bikes? This is Dirt Bikes for Dummies, and I’m a dummy…

Weight: The Suzuki weighs in at 291 pounds, vs. 246 for the Yamaha and 250 for the Honda. A knock on the Suzuki – but …

Anything else?

I’m not so concerned about speed & track tricks but overall durability and good maneuverability in mud, sand, and dirt – or the best compromise possible.

At first blush I like the Yamaha WR450F but concerned it will require a lot of TLC. If the DR-Z requires less TLC I suppose I can eat the extra 45 pounds … yuck …

I rode a KLR 650 30,000 miles thru Central & South America, and at 331 pounds dry and geared up with a ton of aluminum panniers it was a PIG in sand and mud. :applause: And a Honda V65 Sabre to AK... no way that road king sees Africa...

For Africa I want a lighter bike and will be using fabric panniers not aluminum and toting less gear. Light makes right! :applause:

Thanks in advance ~~

Zero experience regarding such a trip or its equipment, except for reading catalogs, Internet posts, and watching "Long Way Round."